Which Linux 4 Slow Comp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisLam

I have a computer that is turning 10 years old in a couple of months. It uses a Pentium MMX processor overclocked to 200 MHz. It has 256mb or so of RAM and a 4 GB HDD and 1 GB free. It runs WindowsME and I am thinking of keeping it. My question: Which distribution of Linux is small and fast and does not need a lot of system resources? Would DSL (Damn Small Linux) be a good choice?

Thanks,
Chris

Almost any Linux distribution should do, as long as they support the CPU (some new ones are for Pentium III and newer only, for example).

You should be able to choose what to install, so 4 GB or even 1 GB could be enough.

256 MB is enough for lightweight window managers as well.

Linux Issues

i was wondering the same thing.i'm totally new to Linux,the comp i'm trying to put it on has Dual 800 Mhz processors,96 meg of ram,60 gig HD.i've tried like 7 different Linux distros and still can't get any of them to install (no i don't want to keep running it from the cd).the issue i have with DSL is i can't get it to recognise the partition and i can't remember how to get to fdisk.anyone able to help?i'm about to throw the comp out the window!,oh and not to mention,if i don't move the mouse or press any keys for a few minutes,the mouse freezes and number/caps/scroll lights all start blinking and the keyboard quits working.it's done that with every OS i've tried to install on it

Which Linux distros did you try?

96MB? Ninety-six megabytes? With this little RAM, you can pretty much forget about advanced desktops like GNOME or KDE. A lightweight desktop will be OK until you try to run some "bigger" programs like a web browser. A modern browser displaying a 21st century webpage will pretty much kill the system.

Unless you shove some more RAM in there, then you would be better off using this as a text-only machine.