Which linux to use? I'm new at this OS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spike

I have an odd disk structure as follows...

Primaray IDE;

Master - 9.54 GB ( C: ) NTFS (disk 0)
Slave - 6.38 GB ( D: ) NTFS, 6.34 GB (unallocated), 25.55 GB ( E: ) NTFS.

I want to dual boot with linux for experimental reasons. That is to say, I want to know a little about it.

I Have XP Pro installed on drive D:, and XP has it's documents folders on C:. Drive d: has been imaged to be reinstalled easily, and with my docs on drive C: I don't loose data when I do it.

This leaves me with a 25.55 GB partition in NTFS to install linux to.

I would very much like to retain the ntfs structure, as I would like both O/s's to have access to each others files. (like I said, it's an experiment).

Could somebody tell me, what is my best course of action? In other words, which linux best suits (if any), do I need a boot manager (any one in particular?) and is there anything special I need to do to get this running?

But more importantly, Can it be done???

You want to download probably Mandrake 9.2.

(But Fedora Core 1, or even SUSE would be fine!)

Download Mandrake from here:

http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/ftp.php3

Read this thread:

https://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=214

Which contains a lot of information. There's an install guide from me (which is a little out of date, but will give you the general idea) and covers dual booting with another OS, also posts from other members trying to get this to work and asking questions, getting answers, etc.

Good luck.

Once more into the unknown....

Thanks for that Phantasm. I read that thread already, and it does have a lot of info there. A very useful thread. this should be fun...!

Originally posted by Spike
That is to say, I want to know a little about it.

That's music to my ears!

Just take your time.

And, of course, the new OS golden rule:

[size=4]DON'T GIVE UP![/size]