Who write's Virus's ????

I'm a network engineering student and would like to hear some opinions and links if possible in relation to what kind of person writes a virus...is it paid for and who pays for it. It's part of my research. You can email me on
tonyw77@bigpond.net.au if u can help

Cheers

people usually are trying to make money or something. if i ever meet one of e'm, they'll be getting a taste of that 2ft peice of pipe i use to smash oem builds. i have plenty of memories of what viruses have done t people and thier businesses...

The way I see it, a variety of different people do different things for different reasons.

However, purely because it's easier, I'm going to break the nerdy stereotype, and replace it with a few more accurate stereotypes to try to explain my thoughts...

First, of course, there is always going to be the nerdy, living with mom, no friends, virgin computer guru types. I should imagine though that they are few and far between. They write virii just to A) give themselves something to do to have an impact on the world, B) because they can, and C) to make themselves feel good and genius like.

Secondly, there are script-kiddies who have very similar reasons for partaking in this activity as the nerdy types, but the fact is that they are even lower than that - they have little knowledge or ability of their own, and so take published virus source code (or de-compile it if they are clever enough) and add small new features to it or make small changes to the way it works. Essentially, they are just taking someone elses achievement (good or bad, writing a good virus from scratch is an achievement, even if it is immoral to spread it) and making token changes so that their inflated egos can call it their own work, and often proceed to brag about it.