Why does my Toshiba Satellite hard drive have a second partition?

Hi all

Please can someone help?

We own a Toshiba Satalite laptop with 500gb HD. Today whilst trying to download a file I had a warning message saying no disc space left!!!!

Confused by this I looked at the computer spec to notice 2 drives, C & D. I am no IT expert but think I'm correct its actually only I disc but partitioned into 2 drives, hence giving me C / D drives.

Here's where I am lost though! The C drive is almost full yet the D drive has only the original HDD recovery made when we 1st had the laptop, & is almost empty ( 240 odd gb left! )

Why is nothing on the D drive and to free up space on the C drive, how can I transfer various items from C to D? Do I simply copy - paste then delete from C or is it more complicated? Also, if I wanted to download straight to the D drive is this possible & if so, how is this carried out?

Hope some of you don't think the above is a bit dumb to ask but I really don't know what to look for and how to solve our usage problem other than asking for your help!

Many thanks in advance

Mark from Hereford, Uk

Honestly I'm kind of confused, but I'll try anyways... So you're 500GB HD is partitioned into 2 240GB partitions, correct? If this is the case the 1st one that is full is the partition where windows is located on, and is set to automatically save you're files to that partition. What you can do is move you're large files onto the D partition to make use of that space.

It can be a simple as copy/pasting you're files into that drive, or you can also set it to route anything saved to a certain file to the 2nd partition. For example, my "Downloads" folder automatically saves to my Data partition on my PC. Do do this simply go to whatever file it happens to be, right-click, properties, location, and from there click move and choose the 2nd partition. Hope this helps.