TechSpot

WiFi doesn't work, Ethernet does

By Grapho
Sep 24, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. What the title says. I bought a TP-Link WDR4300 and installed it, and everything works perfectly on every device except for my laptop (Windows 8.1 Lenovo G480, running Windows Defender as AV). When connecting wirelessly, I get access to the router, but it shows "limited", and it doesn't even let me get into the setup page (192.168.0.1) and when I ping it, every packet is lost. Ethernet, meanwhile, works perfectly. I'd appreciate any suggestions on how to fix it.

    I'd like to attach the ipconfig outputs but my command prompt is in spanish and some of the characters are missing in the .txt file, too. I don't know how to get the file in english.

    @jobeard I saw one thread you solved in which you said to mention you so you could help. I'd really appreciate it. Thanks beforehand for any and all suggestions.
     
  2. mike1959

    mike1959 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,026   +51

    Hi, You will always have to use the ethernet (Cat 5) cable to get into your router's software, at 192.168.0.1, all routers are set up like that for security reasons.
    It's done that way so that no one can change your settings, passwords etc using a wireless connection, you must use the Cat 5 cable to make setup & security changes.
    Did you get any setup software with the TP Link router?
    If you get good internet access using Windows 8.1 using the ethernet cable, it
    might point to possible wireless driver issues.
    It might be worth downloading the latest driver for your WDR4300 from the TP-link website;
    http://www.tp-link.es/support/download/?model=TL-WDR4300&version=V1
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2014
  3. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,317   +618

    Haven't seen one work that way yet. WiFi connections can access the router config - - but it is unwise due to the possibility of a disconnect while still within the router config and not being able to ensure it's properly config'd and saved.

    The WiFi is failing due to the 'limited connection' status.

    @ByGrapho::
    disconnect the wired connection, enable the wifi and make a connection to your router.
    Then get a command prompt and enter IPCONFIG /ALL >MYTCP.TXT
    Copy and paste the contents of MYTCP.TXT into your follow-up
     
  4. Grapho

    Grapho TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Here are the contents, although, as I said before, it's in spanish. I'm hoping it isn't a problem..

    Configuraci¢n IP de Windows

    Nombre de host. . . . . . . . . : VICTOR-PC
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . : difusi¢n
    Enrutamiento IP habilitado. . . : no
    Proxy WINS habilitado . . . . . : no

    Adaptador de LAN inal mbrica Conexi¢n de rea local* 3:

    Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Adaptador virtual directo Wi-Fi de Microsoft
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 0A-3E-8E-AE-76-D3
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : s¡
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡

    Adaptador de LAN inal mbrica Wi-Fi:

    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Adaptador de red Broadcom 802.11n
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 08-3E-8E-AE-76-D3
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : s¡
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡
    V¡nculo: direcci¢n IPv6 local. . . : fe80::df5:4eaf:f7ac:597d%11(Preferido)
    Direcci¢n IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferido)
    M scara de subred . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Concesi¢n obtenida. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24 September 2014 14:47:58
    La concesi¢n expira . . . . . . . . . . . : 24 September 2014 16:47:58
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 185089678
    DUID de cliente DHCPv6. . . . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-B3-A9-74-20-89-84-3A-86-D0
    Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS sobre TCP/IP. . . . . . . . . . . : habilitado

    Adaptador de Ethernet Conexi¢n de red Bluetooth:

    Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dispositivo Bluetooth (Red de rea personal)
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 08-3E-8E-AE-76-D4
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : s¡
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡

    Adaptador de Ethernet Ethernet:

    Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Controladora Fast Ethernet Qualcomm Atheros AR8162/8166/8168 PCI-E (NDIS 6.30)
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 20-89-84-3A-86-D0
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : s¡
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡

    Adaptador de tunel isatap.{84550A7E-451A-4563-9C0A-687865621A99}:

    Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Adaptador ISATAP de Microsoft #2
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡

    Adaptador de tunel Conexi¢n de area local* 8:

    Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
    Sufijo DNS espec¡fico para la conexi¢n. . :
    Descripci¢n . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Direcci¢n f¡sica. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
    Configuraci¢n autom tica habilitada . . . : s¡
     
  5. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,317   +618

    Basically, this is a good configuration for WiFi and with it you should be able to
    1. ping 8.8.8.8
    2. nslookup google.com
    SO, what happens with both 1&2 for you?
     
  6. Grapho

    Grapho TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Both of them time out. The nslookup request times out after 2 seconds.
     
  7. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,317   +618

    Hmm;
    1. What system are you using?
    2. Has WiFi ever worked for you (anywhere at all)?
    3. Has WiFi worked accessing your current router?
     
  8. Grapho

    Grapho TS Rookie Topic Starter

    1. I'm using Windows 8.1,
    2. Yes, I've had no problem connecting my laptop to WiFi in around 8 other networks.
    3. Yes, my brother's laptop and every mobile device in the house connect to the router without any problems.
     
  9. mike1959

    mike1959 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,026   +51

    It's got to be Win 8.1 not setting up with this TP link router.....
    interested to know how this works out.
     
  10. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    I've no sure answer but it does sound like a driver issue. On the Lenovo website they are very easy to find. You could download the driver and save it. Next uninstall the wireless card under System Properties, Device Manager. Restart the laptop and see if Windows installs a working driver. If not install the downloaded driver and keep your fingers crossed.

    http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/pro.../lenovo-g-series-laptops/lenovo-g480-notebook
     
  11. Grapho

    Grapho TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I've already uninstalled and upgraded the drivers several times, that was my first step. I'll try that again anyway in case something went wrong, thanks. @mike1959 I believe so, yes. The only difference between my device and all the other ones in the house is mine runs Win 8.1 (which has given me nothing but trouble)
     
  12. Grapho

    Grapho TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I booted into a live Kali Linux USB, and my WiFi works perfectly well. So I guess the only solution will be to (finally) uninstall Windows 8.1, only have to figure out a way not to brick it, what with the UEFI settings and whatnot. So thread closed, I suppose. Thanks for your help!
     
  13. chip igmo

    chip igmo TS Member Posts: 51

  14. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,232   +201

    Most customers have rated the 4300 router highly but there was a firmware update for it issued in June 2013.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...