Will GeForce 6600 8x AGP work with ASUS P4B-LA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chico4missions

Hello,

I'm new to TechSpot! I recently purchased a PNY GeForce 6600 8x AGP 256MB DDR in hopes that it was compatible with my Pavilion 7955. The 7955's motherboard is a ASUS P4B-LA

See motherboard specs here: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...lang=en&product=62740&dlc=en&docname=bph07293

I noticed the board is 4x AGP, I've read several different places that 8x cards are compatible with 4x boards...Depending on voltage etc... Is this card compatible with my board? I've also heard 8x cards are compatible but will only run at 4x speeds. Please help clarify. Thanks

BTW I've upgraded my powersupply to support the card

agp 8x cards are backwards compatible with 4x sockets. i'm just curioius, what make, model and wattage is the new power supply?

i reccomend checking the dimensions of the new card with your case, as sometimes replacement cards for oems are blocked by fan ducts, cables, heatsinks or something else.

how many case fans are installed, what type, and where? a 6600 is going to throw out a fair bit of heat under load, which can cause problems if there is insufficient airflow in your case.

These are the specs on the Power Supply
Ultra V-Series 350-Watt ATX Power Supply

AC INPUT 115V/230V - 60/50Hz
DC OUTPUT +3.3V +5V +12V +12V -12V -5V +5VSB
350W Max/Combined Watts 18A 25A 18A - 0.6A 0.6A 2A
350W

Connectors:

1x 20/24-Pin Motherboard
1x 4-Pin +12V Motherboard
8x 4-Pin Molex
2x 4-Pin Floppy Power
1x PCI Express
2x SATA

Features :

Supports AMD and Intel Motherboards
Low Acoustic Noise
Meets ATX Version 2.03 and ATX 12V Version 1.2 Specifications
Short Circuit Protection
In-Rush Current Protection
Thermal Overload Cutoff Protection MTBF > 100,000 Hours at Full Load, 110VAC and 25°C Ambient Condition
FCC and UL Recognized

Upon further research (and opening my tower again) I noticed...
+ 1 Fan (120mm?) located at the rear which has a duct to the CPU Fan