Win32/Heur trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

edwells

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to virus removal so be gentle :)

I installed AVG on my housemates laptop a month or so ago, and as of the other day he's getting the message virus found win32/heur its on the file userinit.exe

I've read a few things about this, so I installed malwarebytes on his laptop. This found a few files but didn't help with the heur virus. Can anybody help on this please? I've posted the log file MB created after the scan.

Many thanks

Ed

Spyder steered you right! We need all 3 logs.

But I wanted to caution you: You have/had both a Trojan Downloaded and Trojan Backdoor on the system. And the malware also got in the restore points. So Caution: Do NOT use System Restore. You helper will have you remove the old restore points and set a clean one when the system is clean.

Change your passwords- now.

And in Step 1 of the Virus and Malware Removal thread, not the recommendations to use Avira or Avast. One of those would be in your best interest rather than AVG.

Thanks again guys.

Ok, I installed avira instead of AVG and then followed the 8 steps.
Here are my logs, hopefully they'll be some help

Thanks
Ed

Ed, please run the Norton Removal Tool:
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039

You have the Symantec/Norton Security Suite loading at startup:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccProxy.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
O2 - BHO: Web assistant - {9ECB9560-04F9-4bbc-943D-298DDF1699E1} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AdBlocking\NISShExt.dll