Windows Task Manager Not Working

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, now I am an IT tech, and I've experienced alot of different sorts of problems, but this one is stumping me. I'm running Windows XP Professional. I did have a virus on my computer, and I took care of that. The Task manager was disabled, so I fixed that problem after removing the virus. It worked for a short while, now however every time I try to open up Task Manager, it instantly tells me that it has encountered a problem and has to be closed. I'm at a complete loss. The only thing I could find that looked odd was in the registry string HKEY LOCAL USER/SOFTWARE/MICROSOFT/WINDOWS/CURRENTVERSION/POLICIES/SYSTEM, there was no BHO called Disable Task Manager, which if I do remember correctly should be there. I added the BSO and it is still not working. If anyone has any advice, please share it with me. THank you so much

Chris

What kind of virus were you infected? How did you take care of it?

Have you tried reinstalling Win XP Pro? If you have Norton Ghost image backup, I suggest that you just reformat your HDD and pull out your last image backup that works properly.

My company was in a wrong IT strategy and we purchased Win XP Home for most of our systems. Even without virus attacking, our scheduler task manager does not work properly without some sort of TWEAK....

Hi, i cannot access my task manager either! I think I have a virus but my zonealarm suite cannot find it. I have done a hijack this scan but i have no idea what is good and what is bad. If i upload it can someone help?

fadedilluzions said: