Windows XP LAN / WAN Router Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kriste

Hello I am quite sure you all have read at least one forum with this kind of name but anyways.

I am running a home network, with Internet coming in by Satelite, which connects to a reciever on my roof that trails into the back of my computer, which then crosses over to a Linksys Wireless-G router. BTW I am Running Windows XP With Out SP2.

My Router sends its signal to a computer across my house to a wireless PCI card. Recently It has been able to aquire a signal but i can't access the internet. It connects with Gateway 192.168.x.x. I think it has something to do with access points, but i am not for sure. I have also Upgraded Firmware x2

Any help would be nice.

P.S. I am A Computer Tech, But i have no Network trainging or experience at all.......

The gateway address should be the address of your wireless router, which should be correct. By default, Linksys is 192.168.1.1.

If your network has worked prior and no one has changed any settings or equipment, its reasonable to assume your network is configured properly... which would rule that out as a possible issue.

If your computer shows a gateway, it probably shows an IP address too. If you use Start > Run > cmd.exe and type ipconfig /all , you should see your ip address and additional networking information. It would be great if you could copy and paste that info here. You can right click the Command window titlebar, go to Properties, then Options and enable 'QuickEdit mode' to allow copy and pasting.

It sounds like you can connect to your router (getting an IP address will tell us this), but your router cannot connect to your modem or your modem cannot connect the Internet.