TechSpot

Windows XP update site broken ?

By Boogie
Apr 1, 2002
  1. Running XP Pro...at Windows update page I keep getting this error.

    Then it says...access denied.

    I Recently had to reinstall, since then no go. I installed right over win xp, no format etc.

    I also see this in my windows update.log file in the windows folder.

    2002-04-01 19:33:03 Success IUCTL Starting
    2002-04-01 19:33:06 Success IUCTL Downloaded iuident.cab from http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v4/iuident.cab
    2002-04-01 19:33:06 Success IUCTL Checking to see if new version of Windows Update software available
    2002-04-01 19:33:06 Success IUENGINE Starting
    2002-04-01 19:33:06 Success IUCTL Access to Windows Update has been disabled by administrative policy
    2002-04-01 19:33:09 Success IUENGINE Shutting down

    Is this a services problem ? I'm pretty sure my cable modem network settings are the same as before. BTW, I use
    Client for Microsoft networks
    Printer and file sharing. (share cable via router)
    Net BEUI protocol (for my home networking)
    Internet protocol TCP/IP

    ICF firewall not on

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

    Edit add: I have OEM corporate version. Don't/have never registered
     
  2. svtcobra

    svtcobra TechSpot Paladin Posts: 875

    i got the same version of Windows XP (OEM/Corporate License) and Windows Update is working fine for me. You may want to try it again..There may have been an issue with it earlier.
     
  3. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    I have been trying since last Saturday.
    One thing I'm gonna try tonite when I get home form work is....

    See if I can find the Active X plugin and delete it.

    Other than that, I'm clueless. Hopefully it's just their site and will be fixed soon.


    BTW, does anyone know what this means ?

    2002-04-01 19:33:06 Success IUCTL Access to Windows Update has been disabled by administrative policy
     
  4. Amigosdefox

    Amigosdefox TS Enthusiast Posts: 123   +10

    Do you have a pirated copy of Windows?

    Oh wait I think ive also had this problem before. Try setting everything in windows internet explorer to default settings.
     
  5. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    ;)

    Thanks for the idea, but still no go ! ummm

    Come on you XP guru's :confused:
     
  6. TS | Thomas

    TS | Thomas TS Rookie Posts: 1,327

    Enable Active Scripting in Internet Options -> Security -> Internet Zone.

    & hey, thats what our OS Updates page is for ;)
     
  7. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    Thanks for the reply !

    Active scripting was enabled aready.

    You are sooo right ! I been there and done that.

    Thank god .:grinthumb

    Again, thanks for all the efforts
     
  8. T-Shirt

    T-Shirt TS Rookie Posts: 329

    If you have a legit copy of XP, and adminstraitive rights, and have allowed system updates as Admin.
    It is time for you to "phone home,ET!" (MS support)
    Good Luck! bring food and water:)
     
  9. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    hehe LOL

    Ain't goin there :rolleyes:
     
  10. boeingfixer

    boeingfixer TS Rookie Posts: 1,245

    Well I just got on too and did my updates. It should be working.
     
  11. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    Still no go URGGG :mad:
     
     
  12. boeingfixer

    boeingfixer TS Rookie Posts: 1,245

    Boog,

    Try going to the MS Support site. Here is the link.

    MS Support

    I did some digging around and found this article for you, see if this helps and solves your problem.



    MS Article Q316524

    The "Q" number is the article number, if the link is broken search for that article number. Hope this helps !!
     
  13. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    boeingfixer
    Thanks for taking your time to dig this out. I have already seen this and tried it. I also searched Google/groups for answers.

    I'm not giving up...just need the time to persue it. Plus just bought Jedi Knight game =) There's always 3DS that has links for upgrades which doesn't leave me cold.

    I also tried my idea of searching Active X stuff on my PC. The little time I had renaming files and messing around did not work either.

    I WILL SOLVE THIS MICR$OFT !! :D HEHE

    Again, thanks !
     
  14. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    Problem solved ?

    Well I found the problem. I think ?
    Windows update site will scan now...it works about 80/20.

    Here's what I found.
    start/run/GPEDIT.MSC
    User configuration
    Administrative templates
    Windows components
    Windows update
    This item was enabled

    Now, why do I say it works 80/20 ?

    Cause it is acting flakey. Sometimes the "page won't display", it will tell me to install selected updates then it will break and not complete the download ? But I will persavere !

    I wanted to share this info. Found some other possible solutions by checking google/groups...a great resource BTW.

    Boogie out
     
  15. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    All is good now ! It works !


    Boogie out
     
  16. boeingfixer

    boeingfixer TS Rookie Posts: 1,245

    Great to hear Boogie, If you have anything else, just ask, glad to help out !!
     
  17. Boogie

    Boogie TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    Thanks man..
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.