TechSpot

Wired & wireless connections simultaneously

By AttilTo
Mar 11, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. Attached Files:

  2. TheHawk

    TheHawk TS Enthusiast Posts: 191   +7

    Hey AttTio. Is your diagram correct?. I see the connection from the switch going to one pc that's wired and another that is connected wirelessly. What happens if you connect both pc's straight to the router?. You could have a bad switch or the cable between the router and switch is bad if you get no connection in Ethernet mode as shown
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2014
  3. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    1) First issue is getting DHCP to configure each device; assuming that works, then
    2) getting the routing table in each system is a chore in itself

    *IF* you can be assured that each device is always at a known IP (hint: DCHP address reservation via its MAC hardware number),
    then you can add a persistent route to the common router.

    disconnect all devices
    1. make a wired connection
    2. see the output of route print
    3. now make a single wifi connection
    4. and visit route print from both the wired and wifi connected systems.

    Can you see the problem?

    the 'proof' that routing is correct in every system is
    • system A -> pings system B and
    • system B -> pings system A
     
  4. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    HI
    If I'm using LAN connecttion only with DHCP or Fixed IP - It does WORK
    If I'm using WIFI connecttion only with DHCP or Fixed IP - It does WORKS
    if I'm using both simultaneously - NO SUCCESS

    The question is How To configure IP addresses, Subnet Masks, et
    All the components works separately
    Thanks
     
  5. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    First time I've connected them with DHCP separately check the given IP, and make on the Wifi Router IP reservation - After connecting via LAN and Wifi there is an ALERT in Windows - "IP ADDRESS CONFLICT"
     
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    Of course they work - - you've segregated wired from wifi :)

    do you understand this result from ROUTE PRINT (mine)?
    Code:
    IPv4 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
              0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.0.1      192.168.0.5     20
            127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
            127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
          192.168.0.0    255.255.255.0         On-link       192.168.0.5    276
          192.168.0.5  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.0.5    276
        192.168.0.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.0.5    276
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.0.5    276
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.0.5    276
    If my system wanted a share on another at 192.168.1.1, where would the packet(s) be routed?
     
  7. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    OK - - but answer the routing question - -
     
  8. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Mine look like this on the Workstation PC connected via Wifi to Router and LAN to Switch
    ===========================================================================
    Interface List
    22...00 ff e9 30 2e ac ......TeamViewer VPN Adapter
    12...4c 72 b9 9d 0d ff ......Qualcomm Atheros AR8161/8165 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    11...9c 2a 70 2d f6 e9 ......802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    18...00 50 56 c0 00 01 ......VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet1
    20...00 50 56 c0 00 08 ......VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet8
    1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
    13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    14...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    16...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    19...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    40...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    25...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #7
    ===========================================================================

    IPv4 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.101 281
    127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    127.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 192.168.1.101 192.168.1.111 11
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 On-link 192.168.126.1 21
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 On-link 192.168.1.101 26
    169.254.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    169.254.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.1.111 266
    192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    192.168.1.101 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    192.168.1.111 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.111 266
    192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.111 266
    192.168.1.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    192.168.126.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    192.168.126.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    192.168.126.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    192.168.248.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.248.1 276
    192.168.248.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.248.1 276
    192.168.248.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.248.1 276
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.248.1 276
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.1.111 266
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.248.1 276
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.126.1 276
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.111 266
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.1.101 281
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    Network Address Netmask Gateway Address Metric
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 169.254.121.49 1
    169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 192.168.1.101 1
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 Default
    ===========================================================================

    IPv6 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    If Metric Network Destination Gateway
    1 306 ::1/128 On-link
    20 276 fe80::/64 On-link
    18 276 fe80::/64 On-link
    12 266 fe80::/64 On-link
    11 281 fe80::/64 On-link
    40 281 fe80::5efe:192.168.1.101/128 On-link
    20 276 fe80::7434:da64:5744:9b05/128 On-link
    18 276 fe80::bd49:302e:2a94:fc1f/128 On-link
    12 266 fe80::e91e:b88d:d0e2:7931/128 On-link
    11 281 fe80::fc3a:4a85:5a71:227f/128 On-link
    1 306 ff00::/8 On-link
    20 276 ff00::/8 On-link
    18 276 ff00::/8 On-link
    12 266 ff00::/8 On-link
    11 281 ff00::/8 On-link
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    None
     
  9. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

     
  10. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    A) all those addresses starting with 169.254.x.x are useless and the system will not route those devices to devices on 192.168.1.x
    b) neither will anything on 192.168.1.x route to 169.254.x.x

    I don't want to be a hard A**, but do you understand routing?
     
  11. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    So sorry
    I'm afraid, that CAN'T UNDERSTAND

     
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    That's fine - - and we can broaden your knowledge and make this work for you. I asked
    and the routing logic is:
    1) if there's a specific route for the target address, use it
    2) if not, send it to the DEFAULT route (that's the line shown as
    Code:
     0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.0.1      192.168.0.5     20
    ) The 192.168.0.1 is the router to which 192.168.0.5(my system) is attached. That will go to the modem and thence to my IPS - - clearly ping 192.168.1.1 will fail every time and I have no access to any devices attached to 192.168.1.1

    So, we need to change the IP addresses to get them ALL on the same subnet
    OR add persistent routes to solve the issue.

    More to follow - -
     
  13. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    I've done this stuff for some time now and let me give you some guidelines

    1) NEVER give a laptop a fixed/static address. Instead, set the router to
    use the DHCP Reservation on its hardware MAC address. WHY? Because when you
    take the laptop on a trip or just down to the local coffee shop, it will never
    connect properly - - you coerse it to work on one and only one router - - yours.

    2) If at all possible (meaning you can control ALL devices), use just one subnet
    {eg 192.168.1.1} and let the router with this address control ALL dhcp assignments.
    This means, if you have multiple physical routers daisy changed A->B->C,
    then only ONE can make DHCP assignments ==>A and B,C should have DHCP disabled.

    3) if you *must* tollerate connections from different subnets
    { 192.168.1.1, 192.168.2.1, 192.168.3.1 }, then you *MUST* learn to create
    Persistent Routes.

    {btw: a switch does not have an IP address and makes not DHCP assignments}

    For myself, I have TWO routers

    Code:
    modem==>routerA - - eop connection to a remote room
               |          |
               |          V
               |          WiFi Router --> Tv and Guest connections
               |
               + -- wired systems {Mac, Linux, & Laptop}
    4) I disabled DHCP in the wifi router, left the WAN slot on it
    empty and connected LAN->LAN from eop device->WiFi router

    5) known wired devices get MAC address reserved IP addresses <100

    6) unknown devices (aka the WiFi) get addresses > 100

    (5-6) allow the firewall to control which devices get access to shares.

    The above creates a single subnet and all devices can use the default route 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1
    and allow sharing between all devices (assuming the firewalls on each so allow).

    The other advantage of a single subnet, is you can add devices easily.
     
  14. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks JOBEARD
    I've got You
    1, all the laptops has DHCP enabled, and Reserved IP om the Router
    3, One subnet is enough (192.168.1.0)

    If I set on
    1a,
    SERVER WIFI connected to Router IP: 192.168.1.110, subnet 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1 same for the DNS
    1b,
    SERVER LAN connected through Switch to Router IP: 192.168.1.100, subnet: 255.255.255.0 (should I set Gateway or just leave empty?)

    2a,
    WORKSTATION WIFI connected to Router IP: 192.168.1.111, subnet 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1 same for the DNS
    2b,
    WORKSTATION LAN connected through Switch to Router IP: 192.168.1.101, subnet: 255.255.255.0 (should I set Gateway or just leave empty?)

    How about set the bridge on both PC?
    I'm running VMware on Server, which should have their own IP, and after por mapping accessible from outside ...(the part is clear to me)

     
  15. AttilTo

    AttilTo TS Rookie Topic Starter

    So
    the base idea was:
    1, Connect all computer via Wifi to the Router (internet)
    2, Connect SERVER and WORKSTATION(s) via LAN together
    (I'm running FreeNAS on the server as a VM, it needs to have LAN connection to work
    and needs Internet access too)

    But can't really configure network cards to work properly
     
  16. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    These are very typical
    and I surmise they work well.
    hmm, the gateway address is missing??? DNS too?
    NOT GOOD and you should not be required to manually intervene.
    Try this on one LAN attached box - - directly connect it to the router itself.

    Really strange - - never seen a router act differently due to wifi vs lan connection, so I would point the finger at the LAN driver(s) needing updated firmware.

    Without a gateway, packets go nowhere; without a dns address, you can ping an ip address, but will never resolve a domain name (eg google.com) to its address for a browser to connect (btw: google.com has several IPs and one is 74.125.239.6
     
  17. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    Another thought; check the adaptor settings for Alternative Configuration - - delete any/every thing found in it.
    Use only Automatic DHCP and DNS.

    ipconfig /all should show a complete TCP config aka:
    Code:
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : socal.rr.com
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xx-aa-bb-cc-77-dd
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2d37:b2c9:f5f4:ef1b%11(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 07, 2014 10:23:59 AM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, April 19, 2150 4:19:52 PM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 186955517
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-A6-3B-8E-24-B6-FD-17-2B-97
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 4.2.2.1
                                                    8.8.8.8
                                                    209.18.47.61
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  18. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,426   +317

    Bump-- What's your status on this??
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.