Wireless Ad Hoc Network Log In

Status
Not open for further replies.

seeker1

I'm totally new to using wireless networks, and having a problem with the setup. It appears that I have installed the system correctly, and my laptop and PC do connect to each other. But, I can only assume that the new log in windows which appear when I restart the laptop are for the purpose of finalizing the connection. My problem is that the first window accepts the encrypted log in data, but the second doesn't. I have tried just about every combination of passwords that I have used on the PC, but none work. How can this be rectified? I have no problem logging into my PC locally, so I assume the problem is not with the regular Windows passwords. If I am correct, where would I find the password file created by the wireless system?

Have you created the new account one the PC you are trying to log in to, its not enough to only have the account on the PC you are trying to connect from. Also, have you set up the PC you are trying to connect to to allow sharing of its resources, i.e. disk and printers etc?

Of course, but I'm not certain that it was setup properly. As I said, the problem appeared to be with the password recognition, not with the accounts, but I don't know.

After doing some research on the net, I realized that I had installed the card on the wrong PCI (not the orange one), and reinstalled everything. Something went wrong, for now the configuration utility appears only for a second before disappearing, so I guess I'll install once again.

Can you give more details.
1) What wireless router are you using?
2) What wireless cards?
3) What operating systems?
4) What do the password boxes you are getting look like?