Wireless broadband network problem!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I am quite new to networking. I do know a thing or two, but I now face a dilemma. This is my situation.

I have a wireless Blueyonder broadband internet connection. My current connection is from my PC's wireless USB adapter (Netgear MA101) to a wireless access point (Netgear ME102). The access point is plugged into my digital set top box (Telewest digital TV).

I have had no problems with the connection above. But today I bought a seperate network adapter (Belkin Wireless G USB) so that I could connect another computer to the same access point to share the internet connection available.

I have both computers set up correctly to connect to the internet, they both work perfectly, but not at the same time. I cannot seem to connect them both, they use the same encryption details and everything.

So if someone has an answer to this, I would love to here from you. Thank you. :)

You need a router to share an internet connection. Get a non-wireless broadband router (cheap as dirt those) and put it between the access point and the set top box.

This will not work if you need some special software for your internet connection.. How do you set up your computers?

Nodsu said:
...This will not work if you need some special software for your internet connection.. How do you set up your computers?
What do you meen by that? The only software I use is the drivers for the USB network adapters, and the program that comes with them to set the initial passphrase, SSID code, and encryption settings.

Thanks for your help Nodsu :) Just a few questions to ask please.

Would any router do the job? And could you explain why I had my problem, and why connecting a router between my digital tv box and the access point will solve the problem.

Would I still connect both USB wireless adapters to my current access point with the same setup as I currently have.