Wireless Modem Problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CobraStrike4

I have a belking wireless g+ 802.11g(sorry im a noob so i dont really know what i'm talking about) and there is a quest modem (again, noob here) hooked up to my extremely old desktop and i was hoping i could get wireless internet through that modem but the wireless indicator light is not on and i was thinking that had something to do with it. The network also doesn't appear in the list of avalable networks. can anyone tell mehow i can enable wifi through that modem or what can buy to get internet at my house. thanks in advance!

1. It's not called a wireless modem. It's referred to as WIFI

2. You must install drivers for your wifi device

3. In order get wifi, you must either mooch a signal off an unprotected neighbor's network, or use your own which you must pay for.

4. If there are no free or unencrypted signals, you cannot get internet unless you pay for broadband service and hook it up to a wireless router.

well the modem is connected to the internet and is being payed for, the problem is just connecting to it. For a while now i have been using my neighbors connection but lately there is so little signal i can even connect at all, and others which i can connect to are password protected (which i wish i had a way to crack their passwords). The modem has 6 lights, DSL, internet, ethernet, wireless, and power. i cant remember the 6th. the wireless light has never been on and currently only the internet, DSl and power lights are on. and the DSL light is only blinking. quest support said that might be a problem. this problem is preventing me from accessing the internet on that computer. do you have any solutions? you said somehting about installing drivers? what drivers and do you mean for the desktop with the modem?

belkin wireless g+ 802.11g is a MIMO class WiFi router
it would set on the network like this
Code:
Modem--Belkin---Wired Systems
           +