TechSpot

Wiring multiple outlets to one cat 5E cable

By TrapezeCDN
Jul 24, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Complete newbie needing assistance. Not sure which forum to post or if I am using correct terminology.

Looking for help with a network wiring question. I am running Cat5E cable through my rental home. Have to go in the crawl space. I have one room as an office with the router. From here I will have a wall plate with 4 rj45 sockets. Each socket will go to one other room. I wish to run just one cable to each of the other rooms but have two outlets in each room so we can change the computer location if desired. So essentially I wish to know how to wire multiple outlets in a single room from one cable. The intention is to have only one computer in each room but to have two outlets to choose from when plugging it in. Any and all information is appreciated.
  2. kimsland

kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

That's what hubs are for.
    1 in --> many out

The 1 in, can be already coming from a router multi port
  3. rf6647

rf6647 TS Maniac Posts: 931

Sounds like you need to put out a call for a CT (communications technician).

I have never seen a spliced connection. Cable is relatively cheap. You want 8 jacks (4 rooms, 2 per room)? Add 4 more jacks to the panel serving the router.

Another way the accomplish your vision is to create a patch connection in each served room. Line from router panel connects to a duplex panel on one RJ45 jack. The second jack runs the line across the room to a single RJ45 jack. This line is active only when patched at the duplex panel.

Wireless - this is an alternative.
  4. TrapezeCDN

TrapezeCDN TS Rookie Topic Starter

Clarifying