Worst Brand of computers survey

CompuGeek247

I'm just wondering about this and I wanted other peeps opinions. Which Brand of computers is the worst in your opinion. IBM, COMPAQ, DELL, HEWLETT PACKARD, GATEWAY.

For me its compaq. And its personal experience. When I was a newb in computers I bought a compaq and it came with about the cheapest components and those bastards sold it to me for 1200 when it was about 600$ max. Now I Vow never to buy a compaq made model or anything from Compaq anymore!

So does anyone hate compaq just as much as I do?

I would have to say Dell, with their constant underclocking of components and locking the ability to overclock; not to mention sky high prices ;) . This is not personal experience, however. This is only from what I have heard, if any of what I said is incorrect; please feel free to correct me.

As for Compaq... let's just say I have never heard anything positive about them.

about compaq

most of their "newb users" targeted products are crap, but it's very different for their professional oriented hardware

Brands I dislike (from personal experience in order of magnitude - first one being disliked the most)
: E-Machines, Compaq, Gateway, HP

Actually, if I were to buy a pre-built machine there are only 3 people I would purchase from.
: Dell, Alienware, Falcon Northwest

LNCPapa

Any computer made by any company is a waste of money and sub-standard parts.

Compaq! No doubt about it!
I've tried to help friends upgrade them, and...

Their techsupport is laughable at best (I have a friend who started to work there, but quit 3 weeks later...)...
The most important question when you're applying for a job there is "What is the number to Compaq TechSupport?"....
And this was on the server support test!

Rick> not allways true, but often...

Dell has some nice enough configurations... Yes, they're more expensive than building one yourself, but still not too bad...

Gateway, e-machines, Compaq are the worst