XP Home - can't complete boot - NT Authority Shutdown

Status
Not open for further replies.
XP Home Edition - HELP can not Boot

Hello,

I am new to Techspot but this looks like a great site.

I have XP Home Edition with latest critical Windows UPdates and Norton AntiVirus updates installed. I used dial up to access the internet.

When I attempt to boot I get the following popup message after it says Windows is Starting up:

System Shutdonw intiated by NT AUthority
WIndows/System32/services.exe terminiating unexpcetedly
status code 1073741818

in 60 seconds.. it shuts down and reboots over and over again.
I can not gain access to the system.

I am not sure if this is a virus (variant to Master Blaster) or if something is corrupted on my PC. I did do a abnormal shutdown late lates night.

A few months ago I did have the master Blaster worm but which I successfully removed (at least I though)and plugged up the Windows hole for RPC calls and have been virus free since.

WHat is different about this is that I am not on the internet when I get the shutdown notice.

SO I am NOT sure whether this problem is due to a virus or Windows OS corruption.

I think I am going to have do a fresh install :( from my orginal XP CDROM but I have been bad about backing up and I am so afraid of losing important data.

I have my orignal XP CD ROm and I got in to the System Repair Console. I chose the Repair option and got the list of functions like LISTSVC, COPY etc. I am hoping to be able to copy to diskette some important files However I got an Access Denied message when I tried to Change DIrectories.

I read that I may not lose data if I chose XP Setup but want to be sure before I proceed.

ANyone out there who has any ideas as to what is going on?

THANK YOU SO MUCH,

Robin

Thanks for the reply. I read the NT AUthority thread but it does not seem to give me a way to apply the fix if I cant gain access to the system.