XP Pro admin password

Status
Not open for further replies.

dexterdoo

When I installed XP Pro, since the administrator password was optional, I don't think I entered one. If I didn't enter one, will that come back to haunt me at a later date? Can I set myself up as administrator now?

Is there an easy way to verify whether or not I entered a password? I read that since I setup the file system as FAT32, it's easier to get the password but after a lot of reading, (Search is my friend :) I still haven't found out how to do that yet. Any help is much appreciated!

P.S. if I sound clueless, it's cuz I'm new to XP! :)

If I'm not mistaken, the user account that is created during XP install is an administrator, so you could just change password to the user called administrator.

Hint: During the last stage of XP installation, when XP asks about the username(s), if you hit reset, it won't ask again, and you'll get only the administrator account.

The actual Administrator account might not have a password at all. At the login prompt you can just hit Ctrl+Alt+Del twice to get a username/pw window - where you can try typing in Administrator for the username and no password. Then you can set a password for your self by hitting Ctrl+Alt+Del and selecting Change Password. Hope that works out for you - give us a yell back if it doesn't.

Re: XP Pro admin. password

Originally posted by dexterdoo
If I didn't enter one, will that come back to haunt me at a later date?

Only if this computer is attached to a network, or sits in an unsecured location.

I got hit with a virus (while AVG was running!). It disabled TM and MSCONFIG and REGEDIT. I believe it changed the administrator PW, too (as I didn't have one . . .). It did not change the admin account I use, and it's not PW-protected either (this is a home PC).
I remember seeing something, somewhere about being able to change the admin PW, from another admin account, but I can't find the info now.
Any ideas?

EDIT: