XP Pro Error

ajdemarco

I have been running XP pro for several years on my work computer because one of the programs will not run on the new OS's. This week on start up I got the error file Windows\system\config\security is missing or corrupt. Since I had a back up drive I took out the problem drive and installed the mirrored drive that had been out of the computer. On start up I got the same error. I had a 3 drive that was ghosted about a month earlier and had never been in the machine. I got the same error. After playing with it all day I got it to go until I shut it down and rebooted, got the same error. My last resort was a brand new drive with nothing on it, I installed XP started loading drivers and after loading the video driver it asked to be restarted, so I did. Same error. I cannot figure out why 4 drives now none of which were connected to the computer at the same time all are getting the same error. Is it possible something on the motherboard could be causing the problem?
Thanks
Andy

I think you may have wrongly posted the file being complained about. Is it not ....\system32\config\...? You may indeed have a failing motherboard, but it is more likely related to the fact that MS has ceased support for XP.

The file SECURITY is part of the entire OS registry, and that it could be corrupt on several copies is quite impossible. It points to a major new incompatibility such as the following link illustrates http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/stop-c0000218-registry-file-failure-registry-cannot-load-hive

If safe mode still works, you might try uninstalling any anti-virus you may have. Then don't go on the internet, of course. You must accept that XP is a dead duck now, and can only be used in totally safe private environments that do not interact with the internet.