XP stops booting, blue screen, restarted- but now only 3 beeps!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fiona h

Hello all computechies out there :)

I'm a total novice in this area.

Rushing to get to work on time, I switch off the power of my PC as it was taking AGES to shut down.

I return from work, turn on my PC and- the now-usual my Motherboard logo "ASUS P5VDX-MX" and prompts of 'del' to enter setup and 'tab' to display 'bios message'(? i think, the intinerary of what's in the bag). I assume this isn't a healthy sign, but it's now a common occurence.

Then, I get the occasional screen of 'Windows did not start properly'- with the options of safe mode, last good config, and start normally. I choose start normally (which i usually do when this happens).

However this time, on the XP boot screen, exactly HALF WAY through the second 'loading' sign (you know what i mean, the 'progress' bar under the xp logo- it runs for 1&1/2 times), i get a quick flash of a blue screen with a lot of code on (appears for a few miliseconds), then the screen 'cuts out' (as if powerplug is pulled or something), pc restarts, and this happens over and over. None of the startup modes work. In my setup menu it said it recognized the primary IDE driver (? apologies like i say total novice) and named my hard drive)- it's a Samsung...

This started to really bug me, so i checked out some forums to find how to pause the blue screen but it wouldn't work- it flashes way too fast. Many people suggested opening your PC and checking everything is screwed in good and the cables are connected well.

So I opened my PC and checked everything was connected well. There seemed to be no obvious failures.

Then... I turn on my PC in good faith and get nothing but BEEEEEP...... BEEP BEEP, over and over. I read for a while and many suggest it's a video card issue, though I strongly doubt that, due to the first problem I mentioned.

Does anybody have a clue over this?