I've tried to install fresh version of Win XP pro. However, as
XP tries to format to 100%, before formatting is complete, I get the error
saying it cannot format the drive due to "drive damage." At first I
thought it was because I had a dead Hard Drive. So I then used a spare
drive I had on hand, but again got the same error. I then went out and
got a brand new one, but again, got the same error. I now don't
believe the hard drives are dead, but something else is wrong. I've
tried using another XP home disc I had, and got the same error. Any
ideas? Anyone aware of this problem and know how to get around it?

change things a bit

Your problem is unique in my book. Change a few things and see what happems.

Use partition size <32gb (bios limitation?)
Use secondary ide (cable or connector problem)
Download new bios for motherboard - refresh the program

Since I am a novice, you can await more expert replies. You can also visit the forum for "Guides & solutions".

If your real goal is to install the fresh version of XP pro, "Guides & Solutions" will have references to procedures that use a Win98 Startup floppy to Fdisk the new drive; format new partitions(fat32); copy folder i386 from the CD to the 2nd partition; copy XP files to the 1st partition(via 'winnt' command) . Format from Win98 may not experience the problem. Likewise, a 2nd computer, if available, can handle the format.