Yahoo Messenger startup error: "YPager.exe has generated errors..."

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Folks,
I'm new to messaging and can't get Yahoo Messenger (both YPager.exe and YMsgr.. the tray icon I guess) to execute with the Program Error (Yellow exclamation mark sign) message: (run as Administrator)
- Note: I don't know how to view the log.
- I have uninstalled Messenger and reinstalled it 3 times with the same result.
- Yahoo help is skimpy at best with this problem... at least I couldn't find a solution.

Environment:
- Windows 2000 Pro / SP4 running behind a NAT'd router
- MS-IE 6 fully patched
- AVG retail anti-virus (updated daily, run today)
- PopThis!
- Ad-aware SE Plus (updated daily, run today)
- Tiny Personal Firewall (Yahoo not restricted)

Security: (I allowed these to run during the Yahoo Messenger installation)
- IE/tools/Internet Options/Security/Custom Level settings
-- Scripts must be prompted
-- Active-X controls and plug-ins are prompted
-- Java Permissions are set to high safety

Recently run online virus/spyware hunters:
- BitDefender
- CA virusscan
- TrendMicro-Housecall

Recently run OS tools:
- HiJackThis 1.99 (latest)
- Silent Runners (latest)

Standard procedures:
1. %temp% dumped more than daily
2. C:\<username>\Documents and Settings\Temporary Internet Files dumped more than daily
3. C:\<username>\Documents and Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\*. (directories, not files) dumped at the same time as #2

Don't know where to go next! Thanks

I'm having the exact same problem, and my computer information is mostly the same as yours...

But it isn't just the Yahoo messenger that I've had trouble with; the exact same thing has been happening when I try to install Adobe Photoshop 7 :(

Edit: I've found something you can try. I just read that the newest version of Yahoo Messenger for some reason doesn't always work well with windows editions before XP, but that the old ones will work fine.

Yahoo messenger

Hi,