Apple has taken the step of altering its iTunes software - switching the so-called "MiniStore" feature to give users the choice of turning it on, rather than it being on by default. The move is the result of disquiet raised over privacy concerns with the software. The company introduced the recommendation feature two weeks ago, which requires that information on the songs being played be sent to Apple. This happens in the background while users may not even be connected to Apple's iTunes online music store.

The new feature raised some fears over whether Apple was quietly collecting information about a user's private listening session. Apple says it was not storing any of the user data, but posted that point along with the software changes a week later.

"We've listened to our users and made access to the MiniStore an opt-in feature," said Apple spokesman Tom Neumayr.