More information revealed on iPhone's "blacklist"

By Justin Mann on August 8, 2008, 1:39 PM
Earlier this week many people, including us, reported on a discovered “blacklist” that the iPhone is capable of using, in which it consults an Apple-operated link and can disable installed applications. The intention seemed to have been to disable potentially malicious applications, which some inferred it could be used by Apple to strong-arm developers they don't approve of.

More information on that function has been revealed, and now it seems it's not quite as potent as first imagined. It seems the “blacklist” is capable of disabling access only to the Core Location API, which programs on the iPhone can use to gather location data. It would be used for programs like GPS and navigation programs, and could presumably be used to locate someone as well. It seems Apple's intention is not to be pushy, but rather ensure that any application using this API is secure enough to avoid leaking someone’s position.

Not a bad idea, though I'm sure some more suspicious types will still be wary of it.




User Comments: 1

Got something to say? Post a comment
old101 said:
If the idea is good, then it should be "disclosed before purchase" and not "discovered" after. There should also be an option to turn it off. If that option is denied, and a consumer does not want it, then there are many other phones.What happened to the Truth in Advertising statutes?.
Load all comments...

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.