Samsung teases Windows, Android announcements at ‘Premiere 2013’ event

By on May 27, 2013, 12:30 PM

Samsung has just teased an event taking place on June 20 called "Premiere 2013", where it is expected to unveil its latest Galaxy and ATIV device portfolio. The event will happen in London at Earls Court 2, and it's set to live stream on Samsung's YouTube channel at 6pm BST/ 1pm ET/ 10am PT.

The South Korean firm could use this event as a platform for showing off its rumored Galaxy S4 Mini. Perhaps it will also officially reveal its plus-sized Galaxy Note 3. Of course, these are just the potential devices we have heard rumors of, so it's possible Samsung could have some surprises for us as well. 

Another focus will be their ATIV range of Windows devices. While Samsung dominates the Android market, bringing in 95-percent of all profits from the mobile OS, its jump into Windows Phone has not been nearly as successful just yet. Nokia is currently the strongest contender in this space but there's certainly space for growth.

With Samsung's power in the mobile phone space in general, it wouldn't be surprising to see them make some headway into the mobile Windows market as well. And of course, in addition to smartphones, Samsung could show off some new Windows 8 and Windows RT laptops, tablets, and hybrids at this event.

Premier 2013 takes place only a week after Apple's WWDC conference. It also comes just days before Microsoft's annual BUILD conference, which means June is shaping up to be an incredibly busy month.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.