Computer won't start

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi im new to this.
Can anyone help? please
Just trying to build a computer. bought a new asrockk7vt2 motherboard, amd athlon xp2400+ 266mhz socket a cpu and fan, gforce4 agp8x mx440 graphics card and 256mb ddr memory put it all in the computer double checked all cables where in correct, switched on and nothing:( hard drive and floppy drive doesn't work and the monitor also doesn't work, the only things that seem to work is the modem as light is lite and the draw of the cdrw opens . the fbs_sel1 jumper is set at 133 mhz like it states in the manual. does anyone have any ideas. please
also do i have to clear the cmos by shorting the solder point and what does the cmos do any help would be appreciated

regards gamie

Have u got another working computer you can test the various pieces of your machine in?
A 'non-start' can be caused by failed or failing anything (mobo, cpu, ram, gfx card etc)
Take all the non-essential stuff out of your machine - leave ONLY motherboard, CPU + HSF, RAM, Gfx & PSU. If it now posts then you know that one of the components you have removed is faulty. Replace these components one at a time until the machine wont post, then the last component you put in must have failed (logic, gedit?)
If you have another working machine you can test your RAM of GFX card in, you can narrow the problem down even further.
Hope that is some help
Keep posting your progress

Steg

I agree, start with as few devices as possible (ie remove modem, hard drive cables). Also remove the moBo from the case and verify that all the posts fit with the screw holes. If there is a post that doesn't have a hole in the MoBo, remove it from the case...
If possible, set up the MoBo, PSU, RAM, etc outside of the case and see if it posts. Make sure the MoBo is lifted from contacting anthing before applying power.
Bug