Enabled cool n quite now pc wont post says cpu failed overclocking wtf?

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi hi folks im a noob my first major build had a head ache trying to get raid setup on sata
pc workin ok when switched on this morn unrecognised cpu f1
so went into that while in their i enabled cnq f10 and exited pc booted up ok
was using nero to copy a dvd screen went blank moved mouse ctrl,alt delete nothing
so shut down
now cannt get out on screen cleared cmos tried another graphics card 1stick of ram in module b1 stripped mobo out with a stick of ram graphics cardstill nothing fans on led light on and posting says cpu failed due to overclocking how do i get into bios cant get screen to come on :eek: plz been doing allsorts going out of my head

I think I may have found the sinner.
Magna ATX 500w Power supply
ATX 500, P4 Ready, Intel P4 Recommended, AMD Recommended
2x 8cm black Fans, CE Approved, P4 Ready

+3.3v 28A, +5v 40A, +12v 17A

Price: £23.51 (Including: VAT at 17.5%)

It's the +12v rail which produces only 17A and that probably at the maximum.
Also, the price alone indicates poor quality.
Found it at www.xscomputersupplies.com which must have the crappiest PSU-selection I have ever seen.
Try to borrow someone else's PSU before you spend money.

Also, have a look here: http://www.firingsquad.com/guides/power_supply/

got it from pc fair **** sold it to me for 45 quid said it was a good un :mad:

would this not even boot now that ive got it stripped down to mobo,1 stick of ram, graphics card and thats a n old g force 2

Have you connected the extra power-connectore for the AMD64 processor? I doubt if your PSU has a cable like that (similar to the one needed for a Pentium 4)
An AMD64 runs completely off the 12v rails. Drives etc. rely mostly on the +5v rails.
I'd still say, try someone else's PSU (with AMD64 power connector).
Your PSU should power up, but I don't know enough yet about the effects of CoolNQuiet.

rerd777 said: