Split / Partition / Or Single Drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spyke

Hi,

I currently have an Athlon 1.2 system running Windows 98SE, 512 mb Cas 2 ram, with a single 20gb hard drive. I'm about to get a 60gb hard drive, but haven't decided whether to have two seperate hard drives, partition the 60gb, or just have the 60gb as standard.

What are the advantages/disadvantages of these set-ups?
Would I gain much, bearing in mind I'm no Computer Expert ?

I use my PC mostly for gaming and surfing (surprise) with big installs like Neverwinter Nights, Flight Simulator 2002, Medal Of Honor, Combat Flight Simulator 2 etc, most of which are up to 2 to 3 gb in size.

Would appreciate your views, and may even understand them!:)

Are you going to have your OS on the 20GB and the rest of your junk on the 60GB? That's what I'd do.

Go ahead and leave your 60GB as a single partition drive, just to make it easy. I have a 43.8GB partition which is just for all my ISO's, install .exe's, and a few other things. Then I have smaller partitions for my games, swapfile, OS, music, and backup images.

You'll do fine w/ a single partition, IMHO. Usually the main advantage of partitioning is to prevent your drive from being fragmented, as you can read up on in a sticky thread in this subforum. This is a big problem with your swapfile on the same partition as alot of other stuff.

Okay, so if I went with that, OS, device drivers, Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, dx, goes on 20gb drive?

Does that mean the 60gb would just be for dumping all my big game installs and media into? Would I need to install Windows, drivers etc onto the 60gb as well, or what?

:confused:

Yes, the 60GB would just be to install games on and for all the other stuff. I would install all your Windows applications into the 20GB as well. You don't need to put Windows on your 2nd HDD at all, just install it, format it, and dump :)