+12v possible problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
ok for as long as i can remember i've been having problems with my computer rebooting, i've swapped basically every piece in my machine but to no avail. i was looking at my asus probe and i noticed that my +12v was reading at 13.1, and it sets my alarm sometimes when i have the probe running. now all my other voltage settings, vcore, +3.3v, +5v all run lower then what that is , could this be causing my machine to randoming reboot? also, how can i manually set how much the +12v pulls? thanks!

I'm not an expert on this, but since no one else has said anything, I'll give you my 2 cents. I would guess that your power supply should put out at least 16A if not more. You've got a lot of stuff running on that rail. You say "as long as I can remember", does that mean it did not always give you the alarm?

as long as i remember, meaning i can't remember when my computer didn't reboot, cause if i could i might be able to single out the problem by remember what i had just added that caused it to reboot. i haven't always run the probe, and just recently i noticed that it was running at 13.1, sometimes 13.2, i was told this is not healthy for my mobo. could this be causing it ? is there anyway to adjust it ?

Firstly, it is unlikely that +13.2 volts is going to damage anything (and you haven't reported any damage yet) and it at least shows that your PSU is able to supply enough current on the +12 volt line - if it wasn't able to supply enough current, then the voltage would drop, not increase. Also, your motherboard will have regulators on board to help keep the +12 volts at a suitable level, so if the voltage did get a lot higher, it would be your IDE devices that would be the first to fail, as these are connected directly to the +12 volts from the PSU.