Computer doesn't start Motherboard or Power Supply?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone- This is my first time here and I need help!! I'm a newbie and not real technically advanced, but here's my problem... A few days ago I was trying to connect my scanner to a USB port and I noticed my mouse got stuck. I hit the power button on the front of the computer to turn off. I rebooted and then I couldn't enter my windows password because my keyboard didn't work either! I then turned off the computer from the reset button in the back. Then I flipped it back and tried to power on my computer and it has never turned on again! I should mention that when I try to turn on the computer there are no sounds, no fans moving. It's just silent and dead. It doesn't try to do anything. Could it be the power supply or motherboard? I tried using different outlets, and changed out the computer cord that runs to the outlet. My friend helped me build my computer about 2 years ago. I have left it running mostly 24/7, which I guess isn't good. Could I have worn out my computer faster? I don't even remember what kind of mobo I have or really anything (I have to look and my friend ordered the parts 2 yrs ago). The only repair I've ever had to do on it was replace the fan about 8 months ago. My friend instructed me to open up the computer and see if the wiring from the power button to the motherboard looked ok and it looked fine. I just wonder if the keyboard/ mouse problem first gives any hint to what could've happened. There were no weird sounds, no smells, nothing burned (that I could tell.) My friend and I are going to look at it this weekend, but we could use some advice! I am going through computer withdrawal at home! (am posting from work right now.)