also @ TechSpot: UK's SOCA seizes domain of popular music blog, rnbxclusive.com
Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Sign up or Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > TechSpot Community > General Discussion

Begin your free trial now Pay-as-you-go options starting at $10/user/month

3D Spotlight and e-mail virus's?

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-24-2002
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: Spalding (UK)
Member since: Jul 2002, 13 posts
SD Spotlight and e-mail virus's?

Been reciveiving a few virus's lately...
I never open them, I can view the attachments, and most of the time, it's a batch or screensaver file with a HTML fille labelled 3D Spotlight (something etc)...

I doubt very much it's anybody from these forums that is sending these e-mail out - main reason for that assumption is that I recieve the e-mails in my lineone account and I signed up here (a while ago) with my hotmail account.

This may have already been brought to 3d Spotlights attention, but I couldn't find anything in a search, so that's why I'm posting.

Anyone else getting virus's thru in there e-mails lately?
It's stupid really, cause I aint ever gonna open an e-mail with an attachment from an untrusted source. I even treat my mate's mail's with caution...

Emohawk
  #2  
Old 11-24-2002
Rick's Avatar
TechSpot Special Forces
 
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Member since: Feb 2002, 5,600 posts
That's really unfortunate. I can honestly say I've never recieved one though.
  #3  
Old 11-24-2002
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Manchester, England
Member since: Mar 2002, 527 posts
nope, me neither....
  #4  
Old 11-24-2002
RustyZip's Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Worc's, UK
Member since: Feb 2002, 415 posts
none here...
  #5  
Old 11-24-2002
Vehementi's Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Bellevue, WA
Member since: Feb 2002, 3,199 posts
System specs
I haven't either...

Could they possibly be that you signed up for a thread and have been receiving emails to tell you when there's a new reply?
  #6  
Old 11-25-2002
poertner_1274's Avatar
secroF laicepS topShceT
 
Location: Saint Louis, MO, USA
Member since: Feb 2002, 4,742 posts
System specs
That is strange, I can say that I have never received a virii from 3DS or any other source.

This is very unfortunate indeed.
  #7  
Old 11-25-2002
Julio's Avatar
TechSpot Executive Editor
 
Location: Ecuador
Member since: Feb 2002, 5,355 posts
System specs
TechSpot definitely has nothing to do with that kind of junk mails, not advertising, even worse viruses. Anyway, the fact that you received some mail with the '3D Spotlight' doesn't surprise me much, I remember seeing some Coleman product with a 3D Spotlight label on it a couple of years ago (not where I got it from though).

There is little we can do about it, since it's spam... also, we never got to legalize the 3D Spotlight name as a brand, something I have already done with TechSpot, so fear us!
  #8  
Old 11-25-2002
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: Spalding (UK)
Member since: Jul 2002, 13 posts
I'll take a screenie next time I recieve one (shouldn't be too long), show you what I mean...


Emo
  #9  
Old 11-25-2002
Vehementi's Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Bellevue, WA
Member since: Feb 2002, 3,199 posts
System specs
Quote:
Originally posted by TS® | Julio
There is little we can do about it, since it's spam... also, we never got to legalize the 3D Spotlight name as a brand, something I have already done with TechSpot®, so fear us!
Umm so when we say TS now does it have to be TS® or TechSpot®??
Reply

Similar Topics
Topic Replies Forum
Who write's Virus's ???? 10 General Discussion
Possible Virus's or Serious Malware 2 Virus and Malware Removal
3D Spotlight forum posts 1 Site Feedback and Suggestions
Old TechSpot & 3D Spotlight 5 General Discussion
13 Power Supplies In The Spotlight 0 Other Hardware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.