Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > Site Feedback > Site Feedback & Suggestions

Your Advertisments

Reply
Bookmark / Share this page
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-01-2002
---agissi---'s Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Uranus
Member since: Mar 2002, 2,101 posts
Your Advertisments

I went to http://www.techspot.com about 5 minutes ago. 2 Ads poped up. 1 was like something-Biz. I cant remember. But the other was a page with "Live web cams". It showed "chicks"(I think thats what they were ment to be), talking(it was a gif animation, there wasnt any sound). They were pretending the gif animations were live feed cams. I dont expect that from here. Just not from a computer hardware based website like this. Just weird, thats stuff I expect when looking up cd keys or FTP servers....I goto your site almost everyday, never seen something like this. Plz dont think Im some stickler, cause Im not. Im 14, not 50/60, and I do have testostorone flowing threw my veins(lol,I think thats how its ^spelled^). Sorry, now im getting like that one guy, that posted here about models in some other fourm here. Just thought I'd say that so you dont think Im one of those people who is 100% anti-porn. Bare with me, and no I didnt click the links. Anyways, just why would you guys have an ad like that here? Of all the millions apon billions, you get one like that....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2002
Julio's Avatar
TechSpot Elite
 
Location: Ecuador
Member since: Feb 2002, 4,211 posts
System specs
Never seen that one before, will check with the couple of networks we work with and have it removed, thanks for the note.
Reply With Quote
You can remove this banner by registering, join the TS Community for free.
  #3  
Old 12-02-2002
conradguerrero's Avatar
TechSpot Enthusiast
 
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Member since: Oct 2002, 357 posts
It could be some hidden program on your computer.
You know, from "free" downloads.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2002
poertner_1274's Avatar
TS Special Forces
 
Location: Saint Louis, MO, USA
Member since: Feb 2002, 4,562 posts
System specs
HAHA, Actually I think I've seen this on my fiance's parents computer. They had all sorts of spyware up in their computer. I got on the internet and I couldn't go more than 3 minutes without a popup. And some of them were pretty abnormal. You might try and download Ad-Aware from www.lavasoftusa.com

That will get rid of a lot of that garbage, which could be where this popup came from.

I personally have never seen this ad before either.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2002
Julio's Avatar
TechSpot Elite
 
Location: Ecuador
Member since: Feb 2002, 4,211 posts
System specs
Actually Agissi was right, it was a new campaign that had shown very little, I removed that already and put up a filter so that no adult ads (which pop up every once in a while) will make it here.

BTW, that was some heavy smilie usage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2002
---agissi---'s Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Uranus
Member since: Mar 2002, 2,101 posts
Thanks Julio. About to say, I dont have any sort of spyware crap. Yes, I do enjoy the smilies
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2002
poertner_1274's Avatar
TS Special Forces
 
Location: Saint Louis, MO, USA
Member since: Feb 2002, 4,562 posts
System specs
Well that is good to hear you don't have any spyware, just a thought. Glad Julio could take care of it. I can assume that things like that aren't accepted around here.
Reply With Quote
You can remove this banner by registering, join the TS Community for free.
  #8  
Old 12-02-2002
---agissi---'s Avatar
TechSpot Paladin
 
Location: Uranus
Member since: Mar 2002, 2,101 posts
Yeah, didnt think they were....thats why I brung it up Love those smilies! <Cool ones (lol)
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.