also @ TechSpot: Windows logo to get a Metro makeover in Windows 8
Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Sign up or Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > TechSpot Community > General Discussion

Begin your free trial now Pay-as-you-go options starting at $10/user/month

Pay Pal Scam - Hall of Fame

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-12-2005
! !'s Avatar
! ! ! ! is offline
Banned
 
Member since: Sep 2004, 80 posts
Pay Pal Scam - Hall of Fame

[COLOR=Sienna]It might be interesting to have a HALL of FAME of the BEST Scams;
This one would certainly be in the running:

How many people will fall for THIS ONE?[/COLOR]



BTW:
211.97.116.229 - this IP is in Bekjing China
Quote:
Security Measures - Are You Traveling?


PayPal is committed to maintaining a safe environment for its community of buyers and sellers. To protect the security of your account, PayPal employs some of the most advanced security systems in the world and our anti-fraud teams regularly screen the PayPal system for unusual activity.

We recently noted one or more attempts to log in to your account from a foreign country. If you accessed your account while traveling, the attempt(s) may have been initiated by you.

Because the behavior was unusual for your account, we would like to take an extra step to ensure your security and you will now be taken through a series of identity verification pages.

IP Address Time Country
80.69.115.16 Oct 27, 2005 12:47:01 PDT Germany
80.69.115.16 Oct 29, 2005 18:37:55 PDT Germany
217.160.77.45 Nov 04, 2005 16:42:16 PDT United Kingdom
217.160.77.45 Nov 05, 2005 16:58:03 PDT United Kingdom



Click here proceed with PayPal security test!




Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure meant to help protect you and your account.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choise but to temporaly suspend your account.

Thank you for using PayPal! The PayPal Team


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page.

To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences here.



PayPal Email ID PP6977
NOw, take a look at this webpage

[url]http://211.97.116.229/.cgi-bin/paypal/[/url]



211.97.116.229 CN CHINA - - CHINA UNITED TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION

[url]http://www.ip2location.com/free.asp[/url]

He /she is NOT using a DOMAIN NAME so it is not as easy to BAN him :hotouch:

Last edited by ! !; 11-13-2005 at 07:32 PM..
  #2  
Old 11-12-2005
Didou's Avatar
Bowtie extraordinair!
 
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Member since: Feb 2002, 5,895 posts
System specs
I've had a few for Paypal & one or two for eBay. I'd post the links but they're all dead now. I think almost anyone with a hotmail account has had the Paypal one at least once.
  #3  
Old 11-12-2005
! !'s Avatar
! ! ! ! is offline
Banned
 
Member since: Sep 2004, 80 posts
[COLOR=Navy]This one was received minutes later - check out that domain - some people are definitely falling for this

you can not even contact Yahoo in a timely manner to inform them of this[/COLOR]

[url]http://paypal.com.login-user4173.info/webscr.php?cmd=LogIn[/url]

[url]http://whois.sc/login-user4173.info[/url]

Quote:
We recently have determined that different computers have logged into your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before the login. One of our Customer Service employees has already tryed to telephonically reach you. As our employee did not manage to reach you, this email has been sent to your notice.
Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your identity in order to regain full privileges of your account.
If this is not completed by November 15, 2005, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account indefinitly, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner.
To confirm your identity please follow the link below:

[url]https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run[/url]




Thank you for your patience in this matter.

PayPal - Customer Service

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
Quote:
Domain ID11232169-LRMS
Domain Name:LOGIN-USER4173.INFO
Created On:11-Nov-2005 16:46:51 UTC
Last Updated On:11-Nov-2005 16:46:53 UTC
Expiration Date:11-Nov-2006 16:46:51 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:MIT (R141-LRMS)
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:C113170667448659
Registrant Name:Fas Bangabang
Registrant Organization:Fas Bangabang
Registrant Street1:2225 S. Beverly Glen Blvd.
Registrant City:Los Angeles
Registrant State/Province:CA
Registrant Postal Code:90064
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.9006490064
Registrant Email:
[B]These people are REALLY raking it in[/B]

Last edited by ! !; 11-13-2005 at 07:31 PM..
  #4  
Old 11-13-2005
TechSpot Evangelist
 
Location: has left the building
Member since: Aug 2003, 8,165 posts
IF the real PayPal sends you an email (and it's a really big IF), they will address you by your proper name. They will NEVER EVER ask you to confirm your identity, NOR ask you to log into your account by clicking on a weblink.
You are (at the most) invited to confirm things by logging yourself in, using a freshly opened browser, and ONLY going to htpps://www.paypal.com.

Anything else is a scam.
  #5  
Old 11-15-2005
! !'s Avatar
! ! ! ! is offline
Banned
 
Member since: Sep 2004, 80 posts
This one is a brand NEW Strategy - it is really [B][COLOR=DarkRed]frustrating[/COLOR] [/B] knowing that they are going to deceive some people with their Tact


Quote:
You have added [email]jewelryseeler@yahoo.com[/email] as a new email address for your
PayPal account.

If you did not authorize this change or if you need assistance with
your account, please contact PayPal customer service at:

[url]https://www.paypal.com/row/wf/f=ap_email[/url]


Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team.


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD

NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
[url]https://www.paypal.com/[/url] Protect yourself against fraudulent websites
by opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing
in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.

----------------------------------------------------------------


PayPal Email ID PP1309
But this URL is so[B] BLATENT[/B] - But sounds so official

[url]http://www.mediagate.biz/webscr/update.html[/url]

Quote:
Registrant Organization: MediaGate
Registrant Address1: Shinchon 4-dong Tong-gu 288-6
Registrant City: Taegu
Registrant Postal Code: 701024
Registrant Country: Korea (South)
  #6  
Old 11-15-2005
TechSpot Evangelist
 
Location: has left the building
Member since: Aug 2003, 8,165 posts
Please refrain from putting any more PayPal weblinks in these posts.
You are using official PayPal links but make them look bad, because you don't transfer the 'false' links properly (which you shouldn't anyway).

People got the message!
  #7  
Old 11-16-2005
hewybo's Avatar
TechSpot Booster
 
Location: Vegas
Member since: Oct 2005, 569 posts
I have received no less than six of these types of e-mails over the last month. I bought four different designer watches under four different names, all while apparently travelling in EUROPE!! Imagine my surprise! "Would you like to dispute the Charges? Please click this link, and log on." DUH!Good that people here are looking out for each other, tho.
Newbies!!-- don't be gullible.
Reply

Similar Topics
Topic Replies Forum
What scam is this? 4 General Discussion
TWL Scam! 4 Gaming
windows not booting up - missing hall.dll file 1 Windows OS
Ide disk conflict with sata during win xp load causing dual boot & hall.dll error 3 Windows OS
scam or not? 2 General Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.