Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Login to participate.

Go Back   TechSpot OpenBoards > TS Community > The Meeting 'spot'

Is this a legitimate program?

Reply
Bookmark / Share this page
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-04-2007
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: I'm right here!
Member since: Dec 2003, 17 posts
Is this a legitimate program?

Hi guys,

Since you all know more about affiliate programs than I, I wanted to see what you thought about the program I found at http://www.merchantleads.us/details.html (that's the page that lists details of their affiliate program)

Does this appear to be legit?

The reason I'm asking is because I know of a business that only accepts cash and checks and it's irritating that I cannot use my debit card there.

I thought this might be something that would be good for them and I could also make $100 at the same time.

Feedback would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2007
twite's Avatar
TechSpot Addict
 
Location: Tucson, AZ
Member since: Feb 2006, 1,075 posts
My opinion, no. The site doesn't look very legit. Personally i would not trust them.
Reply With Quote
You can remove this banner by registering, join the TS Community for free.
  #3  
Old 03-05-2007
Banned
 
Member since: Aug 2004, 25,948 posts
I may be wrong, but that looks ultra dodgy to me. I wouldn`t touch it with a barge pole.

Regards Howard
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2007
beef_jerky4104's Avatar
Banned
 
Location: The Basketball court...
Member since: Jan 2007, 1,093 posts
System specs
It doesn't look legit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2007
Newcomer, in training
 
Location: I'm right here!
Member since: Dec 2003, 17 posts
Are these opinions based on the "look" of the site only, or the referral program itself?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2007
Banned
 
Member since: Aug 2004, 25,948 posts
The website was only registered on the 27/1/07 and if you type merchantleads.us into Google, you only get 1 hit. In Yahoo you get two hits, including this thread, so no real info is available to suggest whether it`s legit or not.

The lack of information available and the way the site looks, does seem dodgy to me, I have no way of knowing for sure, but I just don`t like the look or feel of it.

Regards Howard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2007
twite's Avatar
TechSpot Addict
 
Location: Tucson, AZ
Member since: Feb 2006, 1,075 posts
I don't necessarily think it is a scam, i think i just think there are a lot of catches. It's kind of like those "free ps3" pop ups. Yeh, you might eventually get a free ps3 after you give them your credit card#, social security #, DOB, name, Address, life's savings, youngest child, inheritance. Ok, i'm exaggerating, but the site looks sketchy.

Last edited by twite; 03-06-2007 at 01:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
You can remove this banner by registering, join the TS Community for free.
Reply
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C program katmandu Misc. Software & Utilities 2 02-21-2006 08:23 AM
Cpu Program Grr_San_jose_Ca CPUs, Chipsets and Mobos 1 01-19-2006 06:56 PM
cloning cd's with legitimate purpose jackblackness Misc. Software & Utilities 6 04-14-2005 10:13 PM
what's that program?! Shrdlu Misc. Software & Utilities 8 08-11-2003 12:22 PM
PriceWatch vendors legitimate? dank7737 Audio and Video 4 07-25-2002 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.