0x0000008E intermitent stop error

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a newbie to techspot so hi to all..

I have read the other posts regarding this stop error id and will investigate further using these guides when my brother is able to give me some time as i am not pc literate enough to start digging etc, hardware or s/w wise with any degree of confidenece..

In the meantime is it possible that somebody may help point me in the right direction please...basically i have had my Dell for 2-3 years. Running XP SP2.
I swapped the original cd drive out for a Samsung dvd/cd rw combo which worked fine. I then some time back upgraded my Ram with and additional 256k stick. All seemed ok..However every now and again when i load a cd into the cd drive and this seems to be more with new unused media (mmaybe that is a coincidence?) when the drive closes and reads the media this stop error screen appears. It is definitely intermitent because its happened only a few times over the past year or so which i thought may just be a one or two off and i have just placed and original software disk in the drive and it hasn't happened. I was also able to use new media for copying yesterday with no probs..but it has happened about 6 times in the last 8 attempts of trying to use the drive..

Other than this the system appears fine on boot up and useage although it is getting sluggish but thats to be expected with the s/w i have accumulated.

Is this possibly driver or ram related or is it much worse?..i hope not of course..but i have saved the full detail report if required..

thanks in advance

chewy

update - just to add..this has just happened again using used media and also one of the very few times on boot up..system is now running and appears stable but am reluctant to use the cd drive for obvious reasons..

can anybody help please..thanks

ok....i have done a bit of digging and think (and hope) that i may have found the problem..it would appear so but you never know...