160 GB shows up as 1.99TB (external usb HDD)!!! Anyone know WHY?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinku

I tried most things that google suggested, but I wanna ask here if anyone has ever run in to this problem before (I already did elsewhere and used used those suggestions as well)...

3.5" hdd in an external enclosure using USB port: 160 GB
worked great for one year (showed up as 148.xGB, that's fine). made 3 partitions on it. when I merged them using partition magic, the capacity changed to 1.99TB. I backed up data and can play as much as I want with it, but I wanna fix it!

now it won't format, it won't do anything! I tried seagate utilities, I tried a lot of other things.

Computer Management->Disk Management shows 1.99TB
Partition Magic shows 1.99TB
what the heck is going on with 1.99TB?

I don't have any tools (hardware tools, I mean) to hook this up in my box, so I wanted to check before opening my box up (I'm not good at that, I always always always seem to goof it up).

any input would be great. Just give me suggestions, cuz I'm really running out of resources here and it's getting extremely frustrating.
thanks

Yes, Sir. Deleted all partitions. Try to format it, but it won't complete the format, because the system reads it as "1.99TB".

I took a break from it y'day, but I really got to fix this. The guy who has the tools will bring them next week; I'll put this hdd inside the box and see what happens. But until then, if someone knows what's going on and could give me suggestions, it'd be great.

So pathetic I feel for not being able to fix this...
thanks.

Did you delete the partitions using the PM bootdisks ? ? Normally you can't remove all traces of a third party partitioned drive without using that program.

What does seatools report it as after the partitions were deleted ? ?

patio. :cool:

no, i didn't use PM rescue disks. i overlooked that.