A Good Processor and MOBO

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patrick4357

I am new in this computer building process, and I have been looking around here(probably seen me lurking in here constantly) trying to learn as much as I can to prevent ignorant questions. I have been looking for a nice decent processor/CPU to buy for a nice gaming computer. I know I want to take advantage of hyper threading, 64-bit advantages, and also a 939 socket(heard it was very new, and upgradeable.). I have $200-$300 to spend on a processor alone. I want to be able to play this, and hopefully next generation of games. I also don't get the FSB, I know what it is, but on the mobo, it doesn't tell you how many multipliers you get. Very confusing on some parts of the computer. I also want to get a nice MOBO for around $200. I will probably spend around $1.5-$2000 in all for a computer(CRT screen, mouse keyboard, nice optional stuff, and the computer). I want a nice gaming machine, I don't play FPS games (Half-Life2, and so on) so really don't play graphics hungry games. I mostly play the RTS games (War Hammer, etc.) Thank you for the help.

You're not going to get hyperthreading on a amd64 cpu, although an amd x2 cpu(dual core), will be better than hyperthreading. You mainly need ht or dual core for serious multitasking.

You can build a very good pc with your budget. A basic gaming rig will cost about $800-1000(tower only).

I can't really give specific advice without specific details of what you want to do. I like my 3000+, vnf4ultra, 6600gt, and 1gb ram. It works well for games.

Well, with a dual core, you have to buy two processors. Don't think I have the cash for 300 a pop for 2 processors. I thought hyper-threading was ht, or is it hyper-transporting? Some are advising these San Diego(sp?) processors, and I found one for $800. Way to much for me.

dual-core is two CPUs on a single socket. You only buy one.