AGP vs PCI Video Cards, Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay Guy’s and Girls, here’s my first post.
I’m a newbie at posting but not a newbie with computers, although I’m not
an expert by any means. This question has been asked a thousand times
(please don’t think I’ve not done my homework on this) I’ve checked lots of
forums and googled until I’m googled out.

First Computer Specs;
MoBo, Asus K8V using 64/32 bit architecture, Socket 754
CPU, AMD Athlon 3000+ 64 bit
O/S, Quad Boot, Win XP Pro SP2
Win XP Pro SP1 (OEM x64 Edition)
DOS
Win Recovery Console
Chip Set, VIA K8T800-VIA VT8237
Memory, 1024Mb Kingston DDR SDRAM PC3200 400Mhz
HDD, O/S #1, (Win x86), Maxtor UDMA-6 (ATA-133) 250 Gig, 16Mb Buffer
HDD, O/S #2, (Win x64), SATA WD Raptor, 37 Gig 10K RPM
Other Storage, (2) HDD, Seagate 120 Gig RAID 0 <> (1) HDD, WD Caviar 200 Gig
P/S, 500 W ATX (Ultra)
Sound, Integrated (VIA AC'97)
----------------------------
Video; These cards work
S3 Vision 968 - 2 Mb onboard (PCI) Driver Rev 1995
Diamond Viper II - (PCI) Driver Rev 1995
Video; These cards are a problem
ATI Radeon 9200 LE (AGP) 8X 128 Mb
ATI Radeon 9550 (AGP) 8X 256Mb
XFX GeForce FX 5700 LE (AGP) 8X 256 Mb
XFX GEForce FX 5200 (AGP) 8X 128Mb

MoBo has no integrated graphic drivers.
----------------------------
I’m going to make this as informative and short as possible.

Problem; When I install the above video "PCI" cards, the computer recognizes and installs the driver with no intervention from the operator. Computer runs great, no problems except, as you might expect, I don’t want the PCI cards in there. I’ve got several ISA video cards, if I had a slot I’m sure they’d work also.

"AGP" cards give me a blank screen, and most (but not all) of the time the CPU runs (by the LED indicator) wide open. The only way to get out is
to “On – Off switch shut-down”.

This is a short synopsis what I’ve done;
(1) Boot up using PCI card. Go to “Add-Remove” to make sure all vid drivers