Alternatives to Broadband / Cable...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eleventeen

Hey, couldn't really find a right category to post this in. I almost posted this in the Networking one but, sorry if its the wrong one. Anyway, I have been using dialup for over 8 years now. Its really..slow (as anyone could imagine). Im really sick of it and have been looking into getting cable or anything faster. I live in the middle of the country and the thing is, the cable line on the telephone pole stops 3 houses behind me, and the cable company won't hook the line up to my house :mad:. So im basically about 300 feet from where the cable line stops. I have really tried to get them to do it but no luck. So thats not an option. I have heard of sattelite but never really looked into that. Now my question is, can I get anything out where I live that is faster than dialup? Im not talking about Net Zero where they compress the images just so they load faster. Im aiming more towards something that can really increase my ping and download speed. Thanks in advance. :bounce:

I assume that dsl isn't available either? Actually I'm in the same situation. It seems the option is satelite, but you still need dialup service to upload(apparantly you can only download from satelite). Also, satelite has a fairly high ping, a high monthly cost(vs dsl/cable), and a high setup cost usually.
I'm just hoping they roll out BPL soon, that's broadband over power lines, which is supposedly faster than cable, and uses your power lines to access the net. Wireless internet may or may not be an option(also expensive).
You could possibly get a second phone line and do a "muli link" where you use two modems/lines and basically use 2 dialup connections at once, so you might get 100+kbps vs 50kbps.

Edit: Newer satelite doesn't need dialup service anymore.

vnf4ultra said: