Am I set for bad news?

Status
Not open for further replies.
HI all,

I need so advice. I am a complete noob to computers! I have a fairly basic Dell Dimension 3000. It has been reliable for the couple of years I have had it, but yesterday when powering down in the normal way there was a loud bang from within the unit!

The unit will now not power up....I have checked the fuse in the plug and it is fine!

Dont know what happened or the effect it will have on my PC - is it bad news?

Cheers for any advice you may be able to offer.

Frags.

The Dell 3000 has been a reliable, basic, budget unit.
No bang is normal.
You may have blown a capacitor, motherboard, or power supply.
The capacitor will be a little barrel-shaped object resting on the motherboard. There may be many of them. Look for grey, brown, or rust colored powder. Look for any of these "barrels" which are swollen or which have distorted or rounded tops. A typical failed capacitor will have a split down one side with the powdered innards leaking out. There could be a film of dust throughout the computer.
A blown capacitor means you need a new motherboard. If you don't get a motherboard from Dell, your hard drive and Windows will not work. Expect to pay $100 to $150 to replace it from Dell. If you buy from eBay, you will need assurance that you have a Dell certified motherboard designed for that model that has the correct EEPROM installed, so that your Windows is dtecting the correct information about the board.
If you were running games, or photo editing, it may have overheated some components or damaged the motherboard, or burned out the power supply.
The first thing to do is check the power supply. That is the big metal box that has all the wires coming out of it.