AM37 MB Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there! I just signed up to TechSpot because I've been trying to add a video card to my PC which has integrated video on the MB, an AM37. I can't get any info from the PC manufacturer, E-Machines (OK, maybe I should have visited TechSpot before buying it). Anyway, the video card installation instructions say to disable the on-board video before installing the card. The manufacturers site provides no info on how to disable the integrated video. The PC is an e-machines T2460 with an AMD 2400 CPU on an FIC AM37 motherboard. It is running Windows XP (I'm a novice at this sort of thing so I don't know if that is relevant, just want to provide as much info as possible). Also the Video Card is a GEforce2 MX400).

Any help will be appreciated!

In response to your problem there...eMachines are pretty picky. Most, if not all, motherboards with onboard video will automatically disable the onboard once booted up with a video card inserted into the AGP or PCI port. If it does not (which is rare) then you go into your BIOS and disable the video there, if available. To access your BIOS, press either F2, F4, F8, or Del at the Post Screen; it should say which button to press (where it shows the motherboard manufacturer and memory or the eMachine logo before Windows begins to boot). You may have to press Esc first if it shows a boot logo. Well hopefully that helped. :grinthumb

Thanks Monkiki! I plugged the card in and it's running. Windows doesn't see the old video and Norton Utilities is showing that the RAM that had been taken up for the integrated video is now available.