Any way to hookup two (dual) PSU's?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a light gamer and recently got a new video card (7800 GS) for an older AGP-based system. I've only got a 350 Antec PSU in there now. I really need something larger. Since I'm a computer tech, I have a bunch of new 350Watt PSU's. Is there any way to hook up more than one PSU to the same machine for purposes of powering certain periph devices like a graphics card? Ideally, I'd like to get it on a switch so I could turn it on only when I'm gaming, etc. There is surprisingly little information out there about this despite the high cost of high wattage PSU's. TIA for any help!

Well, I don't know much about actually doing it; I just remembered seeing the guide, so I just posted the link.. Somebody else is gonna have to help you here.

actually there is ... Tom's hardware Guide www.tomshardware.com ran an article on this sometimes back. However, for 350W PSUs, I don't think it is practical. Their project involved two 500 or 600w PSUs if I remember right.

I don't know about with parts on hand but,

I've seen power supply "sets" (very expensive) that have a separate PSU for the graphics (for high draw SLI) and the desktop. Not sure about the brand. I only mention this because it seemed like the implied motive. I assume you could drive the GPUs alone if you tied the 2nd power supply to the case ground and used only the PCIE connector, to the cards.
PLEASE NOTE, This is speculation! I would not want to try this without much, much, more research!

techshare33,

first off, why do you think you need a "high-wattage PSU"???... your Antec 350w PSU should be enough for your system.

also, if you followed Socrates' guide, you would not be able to simply switch off the secondary PSU. the "dual-psu's" do not run in parallel, they run independently, and simply turn on and off together. if you were to turn 1 of the two PSUs off, anything connected to it would not function.

cheers :wave: