Anyone experiencing RSI? (Repetitive Strain Injury)

Spliffmeister

Anyone Here got RSI?

Hi all,

I spend on average 6-8 hours a day infron of my PC and Have always been concerned about RSI (Repetitive Strain Injury). Until recently all has been well, however I am now starting to get a pain aroundabout my elbows - i think because my elbows are always hanging off the edge of my desk..... Does anyone else experience the same, and has anyone discovered any remedies? If so please reply.......

Many thanks in advance

Spliffy

Although I spend 10-12 hours in front of the PC everyday (except weekends), I haven't had any problems YET with any of my joints. But I suppose swimming would help. I'm no health expert, but IMO, any low impact exercise should do the trick.

I just did a search on Google on "battling rsi". Found this interesting link:

http://www.geocities.com/la_rsi/erikstry.html

Recovery From RSI So Far...
by Erik Barkley

I programmed computers for approximately 13 years professionally before the onset of my injuries. I did notice some tingling in the hands after approximately 11 years of professional work; I bought a wrist pad, the tingling went away, and I thought nothing more of it. I was quite active physically, cycling three times a week and hiking twice a week, and figured that my body could bounce back from any "punishment" imposed.

It's a story about a guy's battle with RSI. Worth a read. The first few paragraphs are kinda scary. Hope none of us end up that way...

many thanks lokem, a quite enlightening article...... Not sure how it will help with my 3 hrs of CS per night tho' :) ;)

thanks again

Spliffy

I work at a laptop from 8 - 5 (or 6) and then spend a couple of hours at home at the PC.