Application failed to initialize properly 0x0000005 programs wont install

Status
Not open for further replies.

lost at walmart

I am new to this and i need help. every time i try to install new programs or software i get the application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005) click ok to terminate program. i use spy bot, avg to see if it was a virus problem but it didnt fix the problem. it stopped about 6 different programs from installing i've heard of viruses like smith fraud but i cant find a froum close enough to my problem help me.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Let`s have a quick check for malware.

Go and read this thread HERE and post a HJT log as an attachment into this thread.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of lost at walmart only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

May I suggest that you check the Event Viewer first? This is fairly easy can can often lead to finding and fixing the cause of a problem. The Error in the Viewer will have the additional info needed to troubleshoot:

Follow this path:
Control Panel Administrative Tools> Event Viewer> Click on System & Apps, one at a time on the left> look for Errors on the right> right click error> Properties> note description of error, Event# and Source.

There is a "copy" button below the up/down arrows. Click that, then go to any place that allows you to type (ie. notepad, wordpad, this board) and you can paste (use CTRL-V) the entire event details there. It makes for easy reporting of the event.

If you want to paste the Event here, you do not need to include the lines of code that follow the Description- but paste all else. You will be looking for Error that occurs at the time of the problem. Please ignore Warnings.

You will most likely be finding the Error to be Event #1000, Source: Application Error or something close. The description of the Event will tell us what to look for.