Avast says I have 1.reg malware

Status
Not open for further replies.

radicalgel

Hey Guys,

I am running Windows XP Pro and everytime I Start up XP, Avast's On-access scanner says it has found a Vbs:Malware-gen in c:/docnsettings/userid/locals~/temp/1.reg. Even if I choose to delete it or move it I keep getting the same message on startup. I dont think my machine is infected but something is trying to deploy and execute this 1.reg file at every boot. Can some one please help me solve this issue. Do I need to post any logs? I am very new to software like HJK and combofix so I hope you can guide me through this. Thanks so much!

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as Attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the Panda Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of radicalgel only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

I cannot run Combofix.exe for some strange reason. It keeps saying "This version has expired, please download the latest update" then it uninstalls combomfix.exe. I tried several different versions from all over the net but no luck yet. Btw the Panda Antirootkit scan found nothing and said my computer is clean.

Thanks!

Delete all versions of Combofix, then skip the Combofix instructions for now.

Continue with the rest of the instructions and post the requested log files.

Regards Howard :)