AVG problems.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kindangel

I'm new to asking for tech support on line. although I have a little more savy than the average user, usually I can figure out a lot of basic things for myself. Since you're new, maybe you can help me with a problem I'm having. I've been trying to run my AVG virus detection program, but as soon as I open it up ..... it closes. I've opened it up a number of times to try and read what it says and this is what I got
"Cannot confirm security status; the control center is not running. Double click on this text or status icon to launch Control Center"

If I'm really fast I can double click on it and it quickly opens and closes the Control Center, with another message on the bottom saying

"Internal virus database is (can't record the number before it closes) and was released on"

There's a bunch of history to this happening, but I'll give you that when you have a chance to respond to this message.
Thanks for your assistance

Kindangel

AVG Issue

From the info you gave me, which program are you using? Based on the limited info, my suggestion is to uninstall and then reinstall the product. It sounds like the control center engine is corrupt. If you are using XP, you would usually get a message stating that your system is not fully protected. Let me know what program and OS you are using.

Daryl

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

I have moved your post and the reply to it`s own thread in the correct forum. The introduction forum is just for that, introductions and nothing more.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

I am trying to use AVG, to run the virus program. My OS is XP. I have already uninstalled and reinstalled AVG (it took me a number of times to get it reinstalled - it kept giving me an error)