Battery backups and their rated outputs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick

Staff
I am looking into purchasing a battery backup to protect my system from the frequent power outs and brown outs that plague where I live.

Something I would like to ask is a lot of newer, cheaper battery backups have a rated output of less than 220 watts.

Should I be concerned with this output rating? I am worried that a high end system might burn such a battery backup out.

I'm no electrical engineer and don't really understand all of the numbers, but in my previous work experiences I've seen a few things about backup supplies, UPS as typically known. I probably won't directly answer your question, but maybe this will help you or others some in determining what you're looking for.

As a general rule of thumb, you get what you pay for. There's an obvious difference between WalMart's 5 minute UPS for $50, and the Hospital Grade 30 Minute UPS for $5000. But even amongst common brands, similar power ratings and all, if you see a price difference of $50 or so there's typically a quality difference.

At work, we had real trouble with Tripp-Lite supplies- the batteries on them would head south in a relatively short period of time for what we paid for them. The general preference was APC supplies. The only other "big name" of supplies that I recall was Belkin, and I don't have any positive or negative impressions of them.

Some supplies had serial cable connections to allow you to setup options, allow for auto-machine shutdown, and allow you to diagnose fault codes. Some even had an option to check battery health- way cool. For whatever reason, as I recall, UPSs with those ports were higher quality. Obviously you'll pay more for the serial port option, but ignoring that factor these were less likely to die.