Blue screen of death

Status
Not open for further replies.

APPI_0

Hi,
I'm new to this form and I hope somebody will help me to analyze the minidump.I have tryed to debug the memory dump of windows 2000 server from XP work station and I'm failed to download the symbols even after following the microsoft procedure.I have downloaded a symbols package manually and tryed to install the symbols,but unfortunately it doesn't have debugging symbols instead it has retail symbols, those are of no use.I decided to send my minidump file, so that some body can analyse and post the result back to me. I appreciate your time and effort.
regards
reddy

Attachments

• Mini031606-01.zip
    6.5 KB · Views: 8
W2K SP4 minidump

Hi,

Your windows is W2K SP4 and W2K minidump does not dump the entire stack trace and Microsoft does not provide the kernel symbolic map. The stack trace end kernel symbolic is very essential for dump reading. Change the dump option to full memory dump.

Procedure to change to dump option to full memoryl dump
1. Control Panel --> System -->Advance --> Startup and Recovery --> Write debugging information --> Change minidump to full dump
2. Reboot windows to activate the change.

When BSOD occurs, windows takes a kernel dump.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/msdnmag/issues/05/07/Debugging/

Install Windows Debugging Tools
1) Create folder c:\symbols
2) Download and install the http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtools/debugging/installx86.mspx
3) Locate your latest memory.dmp file- C:\WINNT\memory.dmp
4) open a CMD prompt and cd\program files\debugging tools for windows\
5) type the following stuff:

Code:
c:\program files\debugging tools>kd -z C:\WINNT\memory.dmp
kd> .logopen c:\debuglog.txt
kd> .sympath srv*c:\symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
kd> .reload;!analyze -v;r;lmnt;.logclose;q

You now have a debuglog.txt in c:\, open it in notepad and post the content to this thread.

blue screen again