Building a computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carbonated

Hey everyone and thanks in advance for any help!

Anyway, I'm planning on buying parts to cobble together a computer, but I'm kind of new to this. I know what I need (Motherboard etc.) and I found a few how-tos on the actual building of the computer but I need help with my research...So far I have found these nine items using Newegg...Tell me if there are any compatibility problems (I'm planning on upgrading to SLI later when I save up more) and/or I need a better PSU or any other advice:

NZXT Nemesis Elite Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Item #: N82E16811146030

SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Item #: N82E16822152052

EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
Item #: N82E16814130072

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail
Item #: N82E16829102006

Thermaltake W0106RU Complies with ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V version 700W Power Supply - Retail
Item #: N82E16817153039

OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2P8002GK - Retail
Item #: N82E16820227089

ABIT IN9 32X-MAX LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Item #: N82E16813127020

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
Item #: N82E16819115017

ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED 92mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan with Heatsink - Retail
Item #: N82E16835118223

Plus some other case fans...

IMO the X-Fi card isn't really necessary. The Diamond 7.1 card on Newegg or even the Audigy Value edition should be enough. Also, I'd reckon you should go for a 650i-based SLI motherboard, since it OCs and performs just as well as it's 680i counterpart and the northbridge runs cooler, besides being cheaper.