Building my first Gaming Rig. Please take it easy on me.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've built computers before, nothing super fancy or anything with the help of some of my male friends.

I thought it was about time I built my first semi-decent rig.

I mostly looking for cost, I want to get the best bang for my buck. I just need something to tie me down for a few, considering this is my first time building a rig like this.

I want basically what all gamers want, I play a lot of MMPORG's and Online Games, so I need speed, I can't deal with lag or choppy video card refresh rates, so I need something decent.

Right now I was looking into :

Asus K8N Deluxe Athlon 64 DDR400 Mobo - 754 pin - 120$
(cheaper then going 939pin, and I don't plan on upgrading this project)

Enermax PSU 370w - 50$

I don't know what kind of CPU yet, not very familiar with them, so that will be my first question, of course it will be a 754 pin.
I know I was kinda leaning towards the -

Athlon 64 3000 Barton its 462 pins. Will it fit on a 754 pin board? Also how good is the proc? any better priced ones or speed let me know.

Any help will be oblidged.

Next, I heard that since I'm going Asus Mobo I need to stick with Corsair RAM, and of course a dual pack of it to take use of the DDR function. If this is true or not again any help would be appreciated.

Next is the video card, again I play MMPORGS and Online games I also tend to do some Graphics and the works so I need something decent, yet powerful.

Now cooling I heard that for the CPU Thermaltake Fan's do pretty good is this true?

Also for a case? Should I go Aluminum? or What? Big Tower small Tower? mainly for Cooling.

Harddrive also is a good question, but I don't really want to ask any now, I need to continue reading and researching them, but if you can what are some of the MAIN things I should look for in a HD.

Thanks for all the help.

Hi,
Welcome to TechSpot, I am sure you will find this a great place.